What's new

Power advice

Reaction score
I am very new to the S15 scene and need to know some basics when it comes to up'ing the power on my Spec-R safely.

The car is completely standard so I am looking at doing the usual basics like 3" full Exhaust system, turbo elbow, front mount, air filter and a remap. But before I do anything:

What power gains will I get from the above mods?
What is the limit on standard internals?
Is the ECU mappable? or do I need a power FC or something similar?

I hope someone can help in giving me the basics and also please feel free in giving any other info you think I could do with knowing.

Many thanks and I am looking forward to your advice.:D

LuPix_S15

Banned Toyota Lover
Reaction score
Website
www.lupix.co.uk
Country
Hiya mate and welcome to S15 ownership!! :D

With the mods you mention above you won't get very far without some sort of boost control in order up the boost etc. Stock runs about 0.7 bar but you'll want more than that once the cooling mods are in and it's safe to turn up the boost :) The list above is a good start but also make sure you get the Walbro 255 fuel pump upgrade sorted before you go for more power.

In my experience, I've got what you mentioned above plus fuel pump and electronic boost controller and running to 0.9 bar with Apexi Power FC remap. Cos it's been done safe without maxing out injectors, the top end is not above 250 bhp which is stock power. But I get a hell of a lot more power and torque in the mid-range ;)

But if you wanted to push the limits from an early stage, I reckon you should see near 300 bhp if you wack the boost up to 1.2 bar or thereabouts. Just depends on whether you are comfortable with the car leaning out etc.

From then on, I'd say a set of 740cc injectors plus Z32 AFM and possibly fuel pressure regulator will get you to nearer 330 bhp but by that point, the stock turbo is really running out of puff so boost will deffo tail off at 1.2 bar and above.