What's new

Annoying Rattly Noise

T

Twincam16

Has anyone ever had that rattly noise,it sounds like its coming from the cylinder head and as soon as you depress the clutch,select gear and move a couple of inches its gone.
Its confusing me because I was putting it down to trapped air in the Hydraulic Tappets,but Im a total Noob to these engines so maybe one of you lads can help me out :confused:
It gets oil every 3000mls,Castrol RS 10W60.
Thanks
Sean

S

S15R

sounds like VTC rattle, how many kms on the engine?
you should use engine flush everytime you change oil

Nicely

Moving on...
Founder of S15OC
Reaction score
Website
www.jull.net
Country
No. Its something that will either happen from day one or never. Some people have said certain oils will cure it. Personally not convinced...

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Reaction score
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
i get that 2 after the first startup i a while.
Supposed to be nothing to worry about.
damn annoying though :)

M

Meddy

Id use a lighter oil if I were you 10w60 is over the top for our engines. Not trying to say this has anything to do with the problem though, just an observation. 50's good enough even if your doing track work, 40 for just fast road use.

S

S15R

Twincam16 said:
as soon as you depress the clutch,select gear and move a couple of inches its gone.

yes, if you dont depress the clutch and select gear, the noise is still there, i find it funny tho. maybe its nothing to do with the VCT, VTC, VVT whatever it is

R

RyanNK

I dont think I have this issue in my S15 but...hen I saw the topic Rattly Noise...first thing that came to mind was the roof, next was the steering wheel. Both of these parts in my car rattle like no tomorrow. I have paper stuck in my steering wheel to stop it rattling and I dont know what to do about the roof...so fustrating when you have to cruise with no music and windows up and its pretty loud.

S

S15R