What's new

Does your oil filter look like this?

G

gunner93

This is my second change at 3500 miles using 5W40 synthetic oil. Look closely at the +40micron crap.

If you are up to it, dont throw away your filter in your next oil change. Open it up at the base. Be careful of oil spillage. Share it here... thanks.

Last edited:
T

tass15

thats plain nasty! in the 6 years i've been a mechanic, i never seen a filter like that before even on dozers at landfill sites. have a look for any leaks on the intake piping, do you drive on gravel roads much? who/where did the last oil change, what sort of filter are you running? if a foam pod, scrap it n get a paper pod, foam filters lick scrotum, i ran them on mx race bikes and you always had stuff get sucked thru.

G

gunner93

tass15,

I was shocked myself.

1) No leakage as far as boost readings are concern.
2) 99% on normal asphalt road.
3) Using a K&N panel filter.
4) Last oil change was 3,500 miles ago at a garage.

I've opened up filters from my NA cars eg CRV, Sentra, MIRA at 10,000km and I dont see stuff like these at the back of the filters.

T

tass15

check that all hoses/pipes are tight, only takes 5 mins, maybe even pull of turbo suction pipe, see if theres crap sitting in there. also, wnen was the last time you cleaned and re oiled the kn filter?

G

gunner93

Hoses seem tight allright. I wash the filter every 10k km. Looks ok, although its due in a little while. Close inspection on the filter show shiny metal particles trapped between the folds of the element visible to the naked eye... eventhough I hardly go on wot??? Very disturbing!

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
Just to clairfy...is that only external contaniments which have gotten into the oil ? No chance of any of it being caused by wear on any of the internals ?

Looks kinda worrying, would an oil flush, then re-oil help ?

G

gunner93

Would an oil flush, then re-oil help ?
Hi JEZ, Whats re-oil?