What's new

Flushing water system ??

Reaction score
Country
Instagram
@Peglio13
Right chaps ,
Quick question maybe a silly one. I want to change my anti freeze, now I have never done this before I have drained the rad etc before but there is always water/ anti freeze mix left in he header bottle... Now I doubt it would cause much of a problem having 2 different types of anti freeze in the system but surely it's better if it's all the same!
So my question is how do I drain the system so I get all the water out? I had the bleed nipple / screws out and cap off both the rad and bottle when I drained it but still seemed to stay full?!? Any help would be much appreciated !
Thanks
chris:thumbs:

Reaction score
I'd remove the bottom radiator hose, put the car heater to the on position and apart from removing the expansion bottle I would just siphon it out.

Reaction score
Country
Instagram
@Peglio13
Cheers man, I have been removinG the bottom hose to drain the system, maybe I will just remove the air filter and drop the hose off the header bottle too catch the water in a bowl or something .

S15_SAM

NisSam
Reaction score
Country
That header bottle is only the expansion/overflow tank, so it doesn't have much to do with filling the system up unless it's under pressure/vacum. So your best bet is to take it off and drain it out and fill it up with fresh stuff to the max mark.

Btw the it's ok to mix orange and pink coolant together! And it's ok to mix blue, green and purple together! But not to mix the different groups. So DO NOT mix orange with green etc etc.

Reaction score
Country
Instagram
@Peglio13
Ah ok dude that was what I was worried about as I had green in here and the new one is orange but don't think it should have mixed empties the header by taking it off and drained the rest of the system first. What can happen if they mix???

Reaction score
Country