Guide: Installing Ignition Kill Switch

LuPix_S15

Banned Toyota Lover
Reaction score
Website
www.lupix.co.uk
Country
Ok folks :)

Just thought I'd write up a guide of how to install your very own S15 ignition kill switch. These babies are generally used on motorsport cars which go one step further and have complete electrical kill switches from inside and out to meet racing safety requirements (FIA regs etc). By just having an ignition kill inside the cabin it gives me an extra point to kill the engine should I be involved in an accident since I'm doing more and more track/drift days :wack:

MANY THANKS to Craig for helping me do the wiring bits cos I'm still learning :rolleyes: Top job as always mate!! :thumbs:

Bits required for install:
*Toggle switch rated to at least 10A
*Missile style switch cover
*High current wire (figure-of-eight/twin type) rated to at least 10A (3 metres)
*Blade connectors
*Wire connectors (allows two open ended wires to be joined together)

Right - first of all locate the correct fuse (ignition coil) we need to implement the new set of wires and switch in order to kill the ignition! Open the bonnet and take the top cover off the fusebox:

Start the engine so the car is running. In order to double check we are dealing with the correct fuse, whilst the car is running get a pair of pliers and remove the correct 10A red fuse. This should be the 4th fuse from the bottom (front end of the car) as outlined by the image above. If you'd rather not do this whilst the car is running then remove fuse with car turned off. Once removed you will not be able to start the car - only the starter motor will turn over etc :thumbs:

NOW REMOVE THE NEGATIVE TERMINAL OF THE BATTERY BEFORE PROCEEDING!!!